TAU Taps PowerPlug to Reduce PC Power Consumption

Israel’s Largest University Implements New Technology to Cut Costs and Conserve Energy


PowerPlug, a leader in PC power management solutions, announced today that Tel Aviv University (TAU) has implemented its software to reduce PC power consumption and associated costs. Globally, colleges and universities spend billions to power technology utilized in classrooms, libraries and labs.


TAU is Israel’s largest university and has over 30,000 students studying in nine faculties and over 125 schools and departments across the sciences, humanities and the arts. Situated in Israel’s cultural, economic and technological capital, TAU shares Tel Aviv’s unshakable spirit of innovation and openness.


“Colleges and universities globally are seeking innovative ways to reduce expenditures amid the rising cost of tuition, as well as reduce their carbon footprint,” said Eyal Yechieli, chief executive officer, PowerPlug. “With PowerPlug, TAU can quickly and effectively reduce the environmental and financial impact of PC power consumption.”


PowerPlug enables college and university IT administrators to easily implement, tailor and optimize power saving plans. More lenient conditions can be implemented during working or peak hours to ensure that productivity is not impacted, while more aggressive power-saving rules can be applied during non-peak hours for even greater impact.



About Tel Aviv University

Located in Israel’s cultural, financial, and industrial heartland, Tel Aviv University is the largest university in Israel. A major center of teaching and research, it comprises nine faculties, 106 departments, and 90 research institutes. Its origins date to 1956, when three small educational institutions—the Tel Aviv School of Law and Economics, the Academic Institute of Natural Sciences, and the Academic Institute of Jewish Studies—joined forces. Tel Aviv University offers an extensive range of programs in the arts and sciences in its faculties of Engineering, Exact Sciences, Life Sciences, Medicine, Humanities, Law, Social Sciences, Arts, and Business Administration.